Tour de France Line-up Announced: Team Sky, BMC, Radioshack, Cervélo Get Wild Cards

tour-2010preview_500ASO has announced the teams invited to the 2010 Tour de France today, with wild cards going to:

• BMC Racing

• Cervélo Test Team

• Garmin-Transitions

• Katusha

• Team Radio Shack

• Team Sky

This assures the big-name appeal of the 2010 peloton: Lance Armstrong, Bradley Wiggins, world champion Cadel Evans, Carlos Sastre, Thor Hushovd and Christian Vande Velde will all be vying for position, along with a host of other names capable of challenging for jerseys or a top 10 GC finish.

No big surprise, maybe. Team Sky’s results and line-up have more than justified its inclusion; arguably the Tour could not afford to ignore any of these teams, except (perhaps) Katusha. But the decision will disappoint Skil-Shimano, who returned to the race after an absence last year, and Vacansoleil in particular, the Dutch team that put on such a strong show in the early season, winning at the Tour of Qatar and the KBK.

It appears that Lampre – Farnese has sorted out its licence woes, and stays among the 16 Pro Tour teams automatically included under a 2008 agreement with the UCI.

These are: AG2R La Mondiale, Astana, BBox  Bouygues Telecom, Caisse d’Epargne, Cofidis, le Crédit en ligne, Euskaltel – Euskadi, Footon – Servetto, Française des Jeux, Liquigas – Doimo, Omega Pharma  – Lotto, Quick Step, Rabobank, Team HTC-Columbia, Team Milram and Team Saxo Bank.

Bring it on!


No comments yet.

Post a comment:

Comment sections can be a beautiful source of knowledge, conversation and comedy. They can also get pretty ugly, which is why we've updated our Comments Policy. If your comment isn't showing up or suddenly disappears, you might want to check it out.