Colorado Gets Bevy of New Protections for Cyclists
Like South Carolina, now Colorado has passed a bicycle safety bill with an “anti-harrassment” clause.
Starting Aug. 5, drivers in Colorado will have to give cyclists at least three feet of space when passing or risk a $110 ticket. Anyone who throws an object at a cyclist also could be charged with a misdemeanor carrying a fine of $250 to $1,000 and up to 12 months in jail.
Governor Bill Ritter, who signed the bill Monday, was quoted in the Daily Camera sayingÃ‚Â ”One of the great things about Colorado is that so many people love to bike. But it also means that cyclists and motorists alike must take extra precautions so that we can share the road safely. This new law will enhance safety for everyone.”
The bill also contains language that specifically allows cyclists to ride two abreast, so long as they’re not impeding traffic. Ã‚Â Personally, this wigs me out when I’m with people riding side by side on busy roads, but to each his own…you just won’t catch me on the outside of the pack.